Chinamaya Mission

London, ON

About us

Chinmaya Mission – which means the “Mission of Knowledge” is a global organization with 400 centres worldwide engaged in spiritual, educational and social services. In North America alone, over 20,000 students participate in the spiritual education and self-development activities every week, in the various centres in USA and Canada.

Chinmaya Mission

Chinmaya Mission – which means the “Mission of Knowledge” is a global organization with 400 centres worldwide engaged in spiritual, educational and social services. In North America alone, over 20,000 students participate in spiritual education and self-development activities every week, in the various centres in USA and Canada.

  • Chinmaya Mission was established in India in 1953 by devotees of Swami Chinmayananda, a renowned Vedanta teacher.

  • The mission follows the guru-shishya parampara (teacher-student tradition) and aims to make the wisdom of Vedanta accessible to all.

  • Bala Vihar®, the program for children and teens, has a successful track record of self-development through its structured syllabus, camps, and community service activities.

  • Chinmaya Mission started its activities in London, ON in September 2011, under the leadership of Vivek Ji.

  • Currently, the mission has around 150 students attending classes every Sunday afternoon, participating in monthly Devi Satsangas, and joining other weekly classes under the guidance of Shri Vijay ji.

  • Shri Vijayji, the resident Acharya, provides vision, guidance, and teaches over 5 classes every week.

  • Chinmaya Mission London supports another chapter serving the region of Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge, and Guelph.

  • The Ashram of Chinmaya Mission London, located at 2156 Highbury Avenue, is home to Shri Hanumanji and spans 4.5 acres of scenic land, offering a serene environment for study, contemplation, and solace.

  • Chinmaya Mission London is a registered non-profit charity since October 2018, with registration number 3060848.

  • The program in London is run by volunteers, many of whom are active professionals such as doctors, engineers, and other professionals in their daily lives.

  • Volunteers undergo on-site teacher training twice a year at a Chinmaya Regional Centre and engage in continuous studies of the scriptures throughout the year, including online sessions, reflection, and knowledge questionnaires.

  • Volunteers are also actively involved in serving the community through various voluntary roles and projects, providing opportunities for learning, serving, and personal growth.

Mission Pledge

We stand as one family, bound to each other with love and respect.
We serve as an army courageous and disciplined, ever ready to fight against all low tendencies and false values, within and without us.
We live honestly the noble life of sacrifice and service, producing more than what we consume, and giving more than what we take.
We seek the Lord’s Grace to keep us on the path of virtue, courage and wisdom. May Thy grace and blessings flow through us to the world around us.
We believe that the service of our country is the service of the Lord of Lords, and devotion to the people is the devotion to the Supreme Self.
We know our responsibilities, give us the ability and courage to fulfill them.
Om Tat Sat

Our Motto

To Give Maximum Happiness to Maximum People for Maximum Time in Maximum Ways

Our Mission

To provide to individuals from any background, the wisdom of Vedantic philosophy and the practical means for self-development and happiness, enabling them to become positive contributors to society.

Our Vision

Inner transformation of individuals through knowledge of Vedanta, self-development, and service to society, resulting in a happy world around them.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Under the guidance of Shri Vijay Gupta (Resident Teacher)

Sreelatha Varapravan, President

sreelatha.varapravan@chinmayalondon.org

Vranda Kamath, Vice President

vranda.kamath@chinmayalondon.org

Kamini Vasudev, Secretary

kamini.vasudev@chinmayalondon.org

Jayaprakash Raman, Treasurer

jayaprakash.raman@chinmayalondon.org

Mohan Khandekar, Ashram Coordinator

mohan.khandekar@chinmayalondon.org

Krishnaveni Ashok, Bala Vihar Co-cordinator

krishnaveni.ashok@chinmayalondon.org

Srinidhi Srinvasan, Youth Coordinator:

srinidhi.srinivasan@chinmayalondon.org

WORKING COMMITTEE:

Malini Dhandapani, Bala Vihar Coordinator

malini.jayaprakash@chinmayalondon.org

Vinod Varapravan, Outreach Coordinator

vinod.varapravan@chinmayalondon.org

Sanjay Deshpande, Finance Co-coordinator

sanjay.deshpande@chinmayalondon.org

Ekaterina Nikiforova, Vedanta Coordinator

ekaterina.nikiforova@chinmayalondon.org

Srinivas Badepally, Website Coordinator

srinivas.reddy@chinmayalondon.org

Vidhya Srinivasan, Food Coordinator

vidhya.srinivasan@chinmayalondon.org

Suresh Kamath, Safety Coordinator

suresh.kamath@chinmayalondon.org

Vishal Papreja, Seva Coordinator

vishal.papareja@chinmayalondon.org